The Green Queen Corner

It is the soul’s duty to be loyal to it’s own desires. It must abandon itself to it’s master… passion! by Rebecca West

Green Cleaning Tip – Baking Soda Cleans Stained Coffee Mugs June 3, 2008

Filed under: organic — greenqueen @ 4:30 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My green cleaning tip for the week is using baking soda to clean stained coffee mugs.

In my home we drink a lot of English tea in white mugs.  Our mugs become stained from the tea.  Before I learned about the danger of toxins in my cleaning products I used to bleach my mugs.  Yuck!!!  Not anymore.

Now I clean my mugs with baking soda and water.  The water is key here.  It activates the baking soda.  Baking soda is alkaline and tea and coffee are acid.  Therefore, when you put just a 1/4 of a teaspoon to 1/2 a teaspoon of baking soda in a stained coffee mug and add water the alkaline baking soda begins to neutralize the acids in the coffee or tea stain and the voila the stain melts off of the mug and you are left with sparkling white, yellow or what ever color mug you have.

I accidently discovered this trick when I was brushing my teeth with baking soda to whiten them.  I put some baking soda into a coffee mug.  I put my wet toothbrush into the baking soda in the mug.  When the water form the toothbrush dripped into the baking soda I noticed the tea dissolve into the water baking soda mixture.

There truly are no mistakes.

To remove coffee from clothing try applying peroxide to the stain before you wash the clothing.

 

5 Responses to “Green Cleaning Tip – Baking Soda Cleans Stained Coffee Mugs”

  1. Michael Says:

    Great tip, works a treat.

  2. Louis Dupler Says:

    I was looking for more information on this topic this morning when I discovered your really interesting post…thanks a million for writing this. I will surely be checking up on your blog and visiting again to read new articles.By the way since when have you been blogging? 🙂

  3. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out
    better?

  4. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content
    seem to be running off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to
    let you know. The layout look great though!

    Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Thanks

  5. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?

    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you


Leave a Reply

